2020 SEC Men’s Basketball postseason awards announced

The Southeastern Conference unveiled its men’s basketball postseason awards on Tuesday, which included Kentucky’s John Calipari being named Coach of the Year. Kentucky guard Immanuel Quickley took home SEC Player of the Year honors. All of the conference’s postseason honors were chosen by the league’s coaches.

Georgia’s Anthony Edwards, the likely No. 1 overall pick in this summer’s NBA Draft, was tabbed SEC Freshman of the Year and was selected to the All-SEC second team. He was the lone Bulldog honored on the postseason All-SEC teams.

Tennessee’s Yves Pons received SEC Defensive Player of the Year honors, as well as an All-SEC defensive team nod. Pons leads the conference in blocks per game with 2.4. His teammate, redshirt junior John Fulkerson was selected to the All-SEC second team along with Edwards.

Alabama’s star freshman Jaden Shackleford received All-Freshman team honors and sophomore guard Kira Lewis Jr., who is fourth in the conference in points per game (18.5) and third in assists per game (5.2), earned a spot on the All-SEC first team.

The SEC men’s basketball tournament begins on Wednesday night at 7:00 p.m. when the No. 13 Georgia Bulldogs square off with the No. 12 Ole Miss Rebels.